Skip to main content

Land Acknowledgement

The University of Michigan, named for Michigami, the world's largest freshwater system and located in the Huron River watershed, is indebted to the Wyandot and Anishinaabeg, the Three Fires People — the Ojibwe, Odawa, and Bodewéwadmik (Potawatomi). These peoples are traditionally the inhabitants and stewards of this region. In 1817, these nations ceded land in the Treaty at the Foot of the Rapids (also known as the Treaty of Fort Meigs), with the understanding that their children would be provided with educational opportunities in perpetuity. Proceeds from the sale of this land funded the origins of the university, and records indicate that the university has not realized the treaty's promise. Since the treaty was signed, few or no Native Americans have been enrolled at the university.

The University of Michigan Code4Lib Local Planning Committee acknowledges that our university stands, like almost all property in the United States, on lands obtained in unconscionable ways from indigenous peoples. This acknowledgement does not absolve or diminish the advantages gained through white colonialism and violence. Instead we hold ourselves and our universities accountable through how we work, live, research, teach, learn, curate, recruit, and collaborate. We also consider, as educators and information professionals, how the digital technologies we use every day — their infrastructures, design, and environmental impact — have been influenced by the legacy of colonialism and white privilege.

Pronunciation Guide

For a guide to pronouncing the names of the nations listed in the above land acknowledgment, please see the pronunciation guide under Northern Illinois University's land acknowledgement.

Additional Resources

Acknowledgements alone are insufficient. We recognize that they are only the beginning and that there is more work we must do. The following articles and guides are starting places for learning more: